“The Canadian Sport Awards play an important role in honouring our hard-working athletes, sport leaders, volunteers and corporations for their accomplishments and contributions to Canadian sport in 2011,” noted Peter Leyser, Executive Director, True Sport Foundation. “These winners, along with all finalists and nominees, have earned the praise of all Canadians through their immense talent, ongoing commitment and unwavering dedication to Canadian sport.”

2011 Canadian Sport Awards Winners

The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic performance. Winners include:
Male Athlete of the Year: Patrick Chan, Figure Skating
Female Athlete of the Year: Christine Nesbitt, Speed Skating
Junior Athlete of the Year: Alex Harvey, Cross Country Skiing
Team of the Year: Jeff Stoughton (skip), Jonathan Mead (3rd), Reid Carruthers (2nd), Steve Gould (lead), Garth Smith (alternate), Curling – Men’s Team
Partners of the Year: Alex Harvey & Devon Kershaw, Cross Country Ski, Men’s Team Sprint
The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual’s outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport:
Leadership in Sport Award: Tom Quinn
Volunteer Achievement Award: Judith Tutty
Athlete Leadership Award: Michael Smith
The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates a corporation who provides outstanding support to Canadian sport: Forzani Group

The Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates Canadian heroes: Ottawa Senators Women’s Bantam AA hockey team