We're here to tell the stories, not the opinions! Send us your story or results to info@wcblog2.com You control the story, help shape it!

Live WEBCASTING : www.ustream.tv/channel/wcblog2 Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WCcurlingblog2

Translate to your required language

Friday, March 16, 2012

2012 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championships

Well, it is that time of year again for Canada to crown the 2012 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Champions.

10 teams will compete in Thuder Bay , Ontario over the next week for the honour of the title.

This year we see British Columbia, Alberta, Sasskatchewan, Manitoba, Northern Ontario, Northern Ontario Host, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland & Labrador via for the annual crown.

The list of winners is long since the championship started in 2004; they include:

YEAR Winner  Prov/Terr WINNING TEAM (skip to alternate) HOST CITY
2011       Man Chris Sobkowicz, Dennis Thiessen, Melissa Lecuyer, George Hornning, Don Kalinsky Edmonton
2010 BC Gary Cormack, Rich Green, Vince Miele, Corinne Jensen, Samantha Siu Kelowna
2009 BC Jim Armstrong, Frank LaBounty, Whitney Warren, Jacqueline Roy, Darryl Neighbour Halifax
2008 BC Jim Armstrong, Frank LaBounty, Whitney Warren, Jacqueline Roy, Vince Miele (r to l) Winnipeg
2007 BC Darryl Neighbour, Frank LaBounty, Whitney Warren, Jacqueline Roy, Jim Shannon Ottawa
2006 Can Chris Daw, Gerry Austgarden, Gary Cormack, Sonja Gaudet Richmond
2005 Can Chris Daw, Bruce McAninch, Jim Primavera, Karen Blachford, Gerry Austgarden Richmond
2004 CAN Chris Daw, Bruce McAninch, Jim Primavera, Karen Blachford London

In the history of the Championship their have only been 4 players who have won back to back to back titles: Chris Daw (Skip), Frank Labountry (3rd), Whitney Warren (2nd) and Jacqueline Roy (lead).
Can Manitoba place its name again on the trophy?
Follow along on the Canadian Curling Associations website for Standings, Scores, Pictures and of course a first for the championship - live streaming of selected games.
See you there!

1 comment:

. said...

Shouldn't Karen Blatchford be on your list of back to back winners? Who else played on Team Canada at the Nationals prior to your win in 2006 in Richmond?