We're here to tell the stories, not the opinions! Send us your story or results to info@wcblog2.com You control the story, help shape it!

Live WEBCASTING : www.ustream.tv/channel/wcblog2 Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WCcurlingblog2

Translate to your required language

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Dennis Thiessen inducted into the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame

2015 Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame Inductees
The Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame Directors are pleased to introduce this year’s inductees to be honoured at our 28th Annual
Induction Dinner to be held at the Canad Inns Polo Park, 1405 St. Matthews Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba on Sunday, May 3, 2015.

Arnold Asham Developed the Red Brick Slider in 1977
Founder of Asham Curling supplies 1977 Incorporated 1979

Founded the World Curling Players Association in 1989

Co-founded the World Curling Tour in 1990

Sponsor of the Asham World Curling Tour 1990-2014

In 2013, founding partner with the Canadian Curling Association of the Business of Curling Program and

Sponsor of the CCA 2013 National Volunteer of the Year Award

Sponsor of the Scottish Under 14, 17 and 21 Slams 2013-2016

Helped establish curling in Russia 1995 (at the time they only had 17 members)

Honourary Life Member of the Russian Curling Association
Tom Clasper  A level III Certified Curling Coach
Coached curling for 33 years

Recipient of the 2014 Asham National Coaching Award and the 2014 Fair Play National Award

2012 Asham Award for Coaching Excellence

1995 Coaching Association of Canada Coaching Excellence Award

President Fort Rouge Curling Club 1992-93

Coached four Canadian Champions: Team Calvert (2014 Men’s Juniors); Team Meakin (2013 CIS U of M

National Champions); Team Boswick (1987 Canada Games Gold Medal) and Team Laliberte (1995 Women’s

Scott Tournaments of Hearts)
Coached four Provincial Champions Team Calvert (2014 Men’s Juniors) Team Forrest (2010 Men’s Juniors);
Team Laliberte (2004 Women’s Scotties) and Team Laliberte (2005 Women’s Scotties)

Lorne Hamblin

President Curl Manitoba 2004-2005

Coached* at 17 provincial, Canadian, world and 2010 Olympic championships

Past President Morris Curling Club

Currently coaches* the Canadian Deaf Gold Medal National Team

Founder* of the DEKALB SuperSpiel held in Morris and DEKALB Super League

17 appearances in the Manitoba provincial championship

Rural Junior, Senior and Masters Zone Chair since the 1970s

Level 4 Certified Coach

Chair of the originating committee that brought the Curling Academy as part of the curriculum to schools

in Manitoba and Canada

Vice President Business and Promotions 2008 Tim Horton’s Brier in Winnipeg

*Assisted by wife Chris Hamblin


Dennis Thiessen

Member of the Manitoba Championship wheelchair teams from 2005-2014

2008-2010 National Wheelchair Bronze Medalist

2011 National Wheelchair Gold Medalist

2013 World Wheelchair Champion

2014 National Wheelchair Gold Medalist

2014 Paralympics Wheelchair Gold Medalist


Team Jones
2014 Olympic Women’s Curling Champions

Jennifer Jones (Skip) Kaitlyn Lawes (Third) Jill Officer (Second) Dawn McEwen (Lead) Kirsten Wall (Fifth) Janet Arnott

No comments: