We're here to tell the stories, not the opinions! Send us your story or results to info@wcblog2.com You control the story, help shape it!

Live WEBCASTING : www.ustream.tv/channel/wcblog2 Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WCcurlingblog2

Translate to your required language

Saturday, January 17, 2015

BC playdowns underway

BC Wheelchair Curling Championship starts

Wheelchair curlers from across the province will compete this weekend to be named the best in BC.
With a mix of past Paralympic and national champions taking part, there promises to be a high standard of play at the event which takes place at Richmond Curling Club from January 16-18.
There will be four teams competing for the title including Team Cormack which contains three Paralympic gold medallists. Darryl Neighbour, who skipped last year’s winning team and won gold at Vancouver 2010, will play third on the team alongside skip Gary Cormack and second Gerry Austgarden who were part of Team Daw who won the first ever Paralympic Curling title in 2006. The team is rounded out by lead Samantha Siu, a former BC champion, and fifth Jacqueline Roy, a three-time Canadian champion.

Another rink hoping to succeed is Team LaBounty which contains three 2014 Canadian Championship silver medallists. Frank LaBounty, who has three national titles to his name, will skip the team which includes third Allison Duddy, fellow Canadian champion Vincent Miele at second and Ellis Tull at lead.

Last year’s silver medal winning skip Bob MacDonald and third Tom Parker will return to the Championship with new teammates John Boyko who plays second and Janice Ing at lead.
The final team in the field is Team Tingle which is made up of skip Tyler Tingle, third Stu Wymer, second Bob Thorpe and lead Zosia Ettenberg.

The event begins at 11.30am on Friday, January 16 and the final starts at 10am on Sunday, January 18 at the Richmond Curling Club.

Visit http://playdowns.com/curlbc/event.php?id_cmp=527 to see the schedule and the results of all the draws as they come in.

The winning team will represent BC at the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship in Boucherville, Quebec, from April 27-May 3.

No comments: